Skip to content ↓

Health and Social Care - Diploma


You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please


Click here to ask a question about Health and Social Care

Course Description

The Diploma is equivalent to two A levels. It is for students who have a passion for the subject and what to pursue a career in caring. Students opting for the Diploma, must also take the Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care as one of their options in Year 12. Students taking the Diploma will complete a total of six units in Year 12 and a further six in year 13. Overall 50% of the marks are from externally set and marked exams and 50% from internally assessed coursework. The OCR Cambridge Technical provide a strong base for progression to university, apprenticeships or work and are recognised for UCAS tariff points,


Course Content


Unit 5: Infection Control

(Internally Assessed)

The human body is constantly exposed to vast amounts of germs, micro-organisms and disease. Infection control is of paramount importance in settings such as hospitals and residential homes, but equally it must be maintained when care is provided in other settings. In this unit your students will learn about the importance of infection control, be introduced to methods that help to prevent the spread of infection, all of this will enable them to apply this in the workplace.


Unit 9: Supporting people with learning difficulties

(Internally Assessed)

This unit will develop your understanding of learning disabilities and consider issues involved in providing support for people with a learning disability and their family. The unit explores the areas of inclusion, human rights, advocacy, empowerment and active participation. In this unit you will understand the term ’learning disability’, and will look at a range of different types and possible causes. You will examine how the lives of individuals with a learning disability are changing as attitudes and approaches to support evolve. Current best practice in providing support for people with learning disabilities includes issues such as where people live, how life opportunities are promoted, and how the individual can be supported to lead a full and active life.


Unit 7: Safeguarding

(1 hour exam)

Safeguarding is everyone’s business. People who require care and support are often at the forefront of media exposés about abuse, exploitation and neglect. As practitioners in the health and social care sector we must all be aware of safeguarding. Protecting people from harm is a core role for all workers in the health and social care sector. In this unit you will learn how to support and protect people and understand who is vulnerable by being able to recognise signs of abuse, exploitation and harm in both children and adults. In this unit you will become familiar with the language of safeguarding and the key legislation you will be required to implement as a worker in the health and social care sector.


Career Possibilities

Health and Social Care is an excellent preparation for anyone considering higher education at degree or diploma level in a wide range of related courses such as Nursing, Social Policy, Social Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Childcare, Paediatrics, Midwifery, Social Work, Police Officer, Probation Officer, YOTs, Paramedics, Health Visitor, Counselling  and Teaching. Alternatively, students may move directly into employment where they may continue to gain qualifications.


GCSE Grade profile

Students who study Health & Social Care must achieve five GCSE grades from 9-4 including a grade 5 or higher in English and Science. Previous knowledge of Health and Social Care is not required.

We hope you have found the subject videos useful. If you would like to contact the subject leader directly please click on the link above.

Click here to access the Health and Social Care bridging task.